Generation Two: Pello: Chapter Two

SLUGHORN LEGACY
Generation 2: Pello Slughorn
Chapter Two: A Job and a Face From The Past

Oh good Sim Creator my sister is a teenager.  Dad and I are going to be in a world of trouble now.  Neither of us has the know-how to deal with an adolescent female let alone a back talking, bitter one.

Parley aged up beautifully; although her birthday was quite a sad sight.  Dad and I, after reminding him several times that it was Parley’s birthday, stayed up late the night before decorating the dining room, making her a cake and wrapping her gifts.  The plan was to have a great birthday breakfast and since it was also Saturday we would take  her to the art museum.  I thought she would like it because she liked to draw.  However all my hard planning was a waist when she descended the stairs on her birthday, looked at the decorations, scrunched her noise, grabbed a banana and a orange and went back upstairs and shut herself in her room.  I tried to get her out of her room several times, but she just didn’t want anything to do with us so dad and I went to the art museum and left her at home.  At some point when we were gone she did gather her gifts.  I just hope she liked them.

The weeks following her birthday she had become a scorpion; her attitude was the sting and her words were the venom.  She was disrespectful and rude to dad and I most of the time.  Dad didn’t seem to really notice it, wow what a shock, and I just couldn’t stand to be around her much.  We had been in A.P. long enough for her to make friends, but she was always complaining about how stupid or hick she thought the kids in her class were.  I was sick of her thinking she was better than everyone else and just her whole attitude. She become more isolated from people and family.  I felt bad, but what could I do?  I was her brother not her parent.

I allowed her to exist in her sullen, bleak world and I continued to do what I did and that was school, take care of the household and recently I had started learning how to play the drums in music class.  I was getting pretty good and I had decided I wanted lessons, but when dad and I sat down to look at the budget we figured out that dad’s small catches were keeping the household afloat, but it didn’t allow for extra’s like music lessons and a drum set.

“I’m really sorry.  I know you were keen on these lessons, but we just can’t swing it.”  He was sincere, but he wouldn’t meet my eyes.

I wanted to scream at him that he needed to do more for this family, that he needed to be more responsible, but I kept my mouth shut.  As hard as it was to be the “man” of the house I couldn’t image how I would act if the love of my life died.  Everyone dealt with it differently, I just hopped that someday dad would be more connected again.

“Okay dad.  Thanks for checking.”  I was disappointed and upset and Cherry and I headed to my room.  That night I decided that I would look for a part time job.  If dad couldn’t buy me my drums and lessons I would do it myself.  Until I could I could keep using the set in the music room to practice on during my free hour.

The following Saturday I got earlier then most Saturday’s and as I ate my bowl of cereal I perused the paper to see if there were any advertisements for jobs.  The paper didn’t turn up any jobs, but I didn’t let that discourage me.  As I left the house I saw my dad’s catch set out ready to be taken to the market.  I grabbed the bucket and thought to myself that the market would be the perfect place to start looking for a job.  With a smile on my face I set off for town.

That evening I came home as the sun sank beyond the land.  I was exhausted and jobless.  I had filled out about a dozen applications and everyone of them told me that they would put it on file, but currently they weren’t hiring.  I felt slightly discouraged, but I wasn’t going to give up.  I wanted that drum set very badly.  So I decided that the following weekend I would try again.  I would have tried on Sunday, but I was taking Cherry to the park for a day of Frisbee and fun.

The next morning after breakfast I packed my backpack a clicked the leash onto Cherry’s collar and we set off to the park.  It was one of my free days where I wasn’t taking care of others needs and I wanted it to last so Cherry and I took a new route to the park.  It was such a good choice the walk was beautiful and the sun felt great.

We came upon a farmhouse and I noticed a sign at the end of the driveway that said “Hiring”.  I looked at Cherry and thought what the heck it wouldn’t hurt to see what kind of work is needing to be done.  We started up the driveway and when I saw an elderly made working in a very plush apple orchard I told Cherry to sit and stay and started to approach the man.

The older man heard me and turned from his chore.  “No no…bring your dog with you young man.”  He called to me.

I patted my leg and Cherry ran to my side and the man met us half way.  Bending down he allowed Cherry to smell his hand before he ran his thin fingers through the fur of her head.  “Beautiful dog you have.”  He stood up smiling.

“Thank you. ”  I puffed my chest out with pride.

“So how can I help you today son?”  He pushed his glasses up his nose.

“Um…I saw your sign and thought I would ask what kind of work you have available.”  I’m normally not a nervous person, but there was something about him that made me want to impress him and I felt as if I was doing anything but impressing him.

“Ah…good good.  Well my name is Dr. Wilmont Fantrain and I’m a veterinarian.  I own the clinic down town, but here I run an animal boarding house and rescue.  I also live here.  I’m looking for a trustworthy person to help me out around here cleaning horse stalls, feeding and walking the dogs, grooming and caring for the cats as well as the other animals we have here.  I have one assistant here, her name is Kora, but we find ourselves obtaining more and more animals so I need more help. “

I raked my hands through my messy hair.  “What are the hours?”

Dr. Fantrain stroked his chin as he thought about it.  “Most weekends for sure, but I may need you at times during the week.  Are you interested?”

I looked over at Cherry worried about leaving her every weekend.  The weekends were normally our time and we both treasured that time.

“Does your dog get along with other animals?”  Dr. Fantrain asked.

“For the most party she does.”  There was one time, soon after I got her, that she got into a little scrap with a stray dog who tried to sleep in her doghouse.

Crossing his arms over his chest he gave me another smile.  His smile was comforting and made you feel at ease.  “What is your dog’s name?”

“Cherry Tree, but I call her Cherry.”

“Well Ms. Cherry would be welcome to come with you on the weekends.  It would be nice for the other animals to be exposed to other animals.  This is if you are interested in the job.”

I was interested.  I loved animals and this sounded like the perfect job for me.  Granted cleaning up horse doo-doo and dog doo-doo wasn’t on my top ten things to do, but this could lead into bigger opportunities and would be a chance to learn from Dr. Fantrain.  Ever since I got Cherry I had thought about become a veterinarian and now I was talking to one about a job.  It seems like luck was turning my way.

“Do I need to fill out an application or something?”

“Nah, we are very informal here.  So can you start next Saturday?”

“Um…yes but can I ask what I will get paid?”

Dr. Fantrain told me what he paid and that payday was every Friday.  We shook hands and I left with a promise to see him the following weekend.  With a sense of accomplishment Cherry and I finished our walk to the park.

The park was great and the whole day I felt like I was on cloud nine.

~~

All week I had been looking forward to Saturday and getting one step closer to my dreams.  I made sure all my homework was done on Friday night and went to bed early.  Nothing was going to stop me from doing a good job.

The day was full of hard work and it was long, but also a lot of fun.  I learned that Dr. Fantrain was a widower.  His wife had died five years prior in a car accident.  Ever since he had surrounded himself with the things he loved to remind him that life is happy, but short.  He opened up his property as a boarding center for animals about a year after his wife’s death, and the residences of A.P. took well to it leaving their pets in his care when they went out of town for holiday’s or long weekends.  However, when people started to report strays and abandoned pets around town he began to take them in and care for them.  The place ran on donations and his money from the clinic.

The weekend I started there weren’t any borders so I spent the time working and getting to know the residents of Fantrain Farm.  I cared for Fareed the horse as Kora brushed Shoshone the unicorn.

I played with Gilbert cat while Ms. Jezebel rolled around in her bed; all the while Cherry made sure she was always close by.

Bear and Cleo were happy to meet Cherry and I.

That weekend I had the best time I had had since moving to A.P. and I looked forward to working for Dr. Fantrain as long as I could.

~~

Life returned to a routine.  During the week I was in school working hard and then home to take care of my family and spend time with Cherry and most days Skype or email with Midori, and on the weekends I was found on the Fantrain farm working hard and having the time of my life.

About three weeks after I started working I got home a little early on a Sunday afternoon and decided to make something special for dinner.  Normally it was something quick and easy because I was so tired after work.  I was cutting up the vegetables when I heard the doorbell ring.  I knew Parley was in the living room watching some dark cartoon so I yelled out at her, “Parley, get the door.”

I heard her drag her feet to the door and open it.  I could hear low murmurs and a moment later she yelled back,  “Pello!”

Laying the knife down and exited the kitchen and as I walked past my sister I said, “Could you have been more rude?”

“Oh probably.” Was her reply before she ran up the stairs to her room.  I heard her door slam as I got to the front door.

“I’m sorry about my sis….” I stopped cold as I saw who it was.

“Midori, man what are you doing here?”

“Nice greeting Dude.  Are you going to invite me in?”  Midori laughed.

I leaned forward and gave my best friend a half hug and ushered him into the house.

“You weren’t kidding about Parley were you?”  He scratched the back of his neck and gave me a concerned look.

“No Man, I wasn’t.”  I lead him into the kitchen so I could continue dinner.  “So what are you doing here and why didn’t you tell me you were coming?”

He leaned up against the counter and grabbed a carrot.  “My dad put in for a transfer at work two months ago and on Friday we moved here after his request was finally accepted.”

“Old man sour requested to move here?  Why?”  I was dumbfounded Mr. Sour wasn’t the friendliness guy around and he seemed pretty content in Riverview.

“Believe it or not my dad has changed some.  I asked if his job had a location in or around Appaloosa Plains.  When I found out that there was a location here I begged and pleaded for him to put in for a transfer, and finally I wore him out and he did.  I didn’t tell you because I wanted it to be a surprise.”  He popped another carrot in his mouth.

“Well it is great to have you here buddy.   Are you staying for dinner?”

Midori nodded his head.  “So Pello, what are we going to do about Parley?”

10 thoughts on “Generation Two: Pello: Chapter Two

  1. GREAT POST! You are so good at adding detail to not only what you write but your pictures.

  2. Ashley says:

    Parley grew up so beautiful. Hopefully Pello and Midori can bring her back to the light.

    I love the idea of Pello’s new job. Working with all those animals is sure to keep him busy.

    Looking forward to reading the next update

  3. Logan Fey says:

    That is really some quality writing you have there!
    The comparisons you used, such as Parley being like a scorpion were really good!
    That farmhouse looks great! Who could have built such a beauty? Maybe you should advertise where you got it….
    I love seeing them in it! Cherry looks so happy there!
    I can’t wait to read more about the job!

    Logan

    • slughorn28 says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting Logan.

      Oh when Fantrain Farm is more promonate I will be sure to advertise it becuase the builder is so awesome. 🙂

      thank you for the complements on my writing. That means a lot to me.

      I can’t wait till the Slughorn’s live on Fantrain Farm….It will make me so happy.

      thank you again
      Jen

  4. wellslegacy says:

    Woooow! Parley sure has some attitude, but with Midori back…I sure hope that he can bring her back to her old, sweet self.
    Eeee! I’m glad that Pello found a job that he enjoys! There sure is nothing better than that..
    I’m definitely looking forward to seeing where this job takes him and what will happen to the rest of the family.
    Great post!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Wow, i love the story, the colors and the different personalitys of each sim make it very good. Your writing is some of the best i have seen in a long time 🙂 I love how he is working with the animals, personally thats what i want to do when i get a degree in veterinary medicine!

    • slughorn28 says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting. Thank you for the wonderful comments. Truly means a lot. Once Upon a time I wanted to work with animals, but I was unable to make it happen. I’m so excited for you to get your degree.

Leave a Reply

